How to Replace or Cashout your Cash Passport Card


If you are planning to travel again but your Cash Passport has expired, just take your Card, a valid ID, your valid passport, proof of travel and proof of residence to the branch where you first purchased it and they can load a new Card.

Alternatively, if you’re not planning to travel but your Card has expired, you can ask for your funds to be cashed out and refunded to you. Please enquire at your initial Purchase Location for more information. Please note that it is an exchange control requirement that all unused foreign exchange is converted into Rand within 30 days of returning to South Africa. We recommend that you wait until 10 days after your last transaction before converting the currency on your Cash Passport back to Rand, to ensure that all your transactions have been processed, and so avoid overspending on your Card.

Please note that the VAT Refund Card is only valid for 12 months from the date of issue, regardless of the expiry date showing on the Card. It is NOT reloadable and should be destroyed by cutting it in half, once the available funds have been utilised.


If your Cash Passport is lost or stolen, contact Card Services immediately, so they can cancel it and organise a free replacement. Rest assured that your balance is PIN protected and if you have a second Card you can still access your funds with the Additional Card.


If you would prefer not to keep your Card at the end of your trip, you can withdraw your remaining balance (assuming it is within the ATM’s issuing limits) from an ATM*, displaying the MasterCard® or Visa Acceptance Mark (depending on which type of Cash Passport you have). Alternatively, you can go back to the location where you initially bought the Card and ask for a refund of your remaining Card balance. Please remember to bring a valid ID, your valid passport and proof of residence.

*Your remaining balance cannot be withdrawn from ATMs in South Africa. The Card is intended for use outside of South Africa and should not be used in the Common Monetary Area, being South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland and Namibia. In addition, the Card may not operate in some countries, due to sanctions.