Reload your Cash Passport

How to add money to your Cash Passport Prepaid Currency Card

Reloading your Cash Passport*

Please note that it is an exchange control requirement that all unused foreign exchange is converted into Rand within 30 days of returning to South Africa. We recommend that you wait until 10 days after your last transaction before converting the currency on your Cash Passport back to Rand, to ensure that all your transactions have been processed, and so avoid overspending on your Card. You can withdraw the balance remaining on your Card at ATMs worldwide**, displaying the Visa or MasterCard® Acceptance Mark (depending on what type of Cash Passport you have). Alternatively, you can take your Card back to the branch where you bought it and they’ll refund the balance.

Even with a zero balance, your Cash Passport is still valid (until the expiry date on the front of the Card), and you can reload it for your next trip anytime. Just take your Cash Passport, a valid ID, your valid passport, proof of travel, proof of residence and payment to the branch where you first purchased it, and they will reload the Card for you.

Your Cash Passport is valid for at least three years (see the expiry date on your Card) and reloadable as many times as you want – within the limits and restrictions of your Card.

Please note that the VAT Refund Card is only valid for 12 months from the date of issue, regardless of the expiry date showing on the Card. It is NOT reloadable and it should be destroyed by cutting it in half once the available funds have been used.

If you purchased your Cash Passport outside South Africa, please visit your local Cash Passport website for information on how to reload it. See  for Cash Passport websites for other countries.

* Local Exchange Control Regulations issued in terms of the Currency and Exchanges Act 9 of 1933 and the provisions of the Financial Intelligence Centre Act 38 of 2001 apply.

** The Card is intended for use outside of South Africa and should not be used in the Common Monetary Area, being South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland and Namibia. In addition, the Card may not operate in some countries, due to sanctions.